Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

By Paul Torday

DEBUT FICTION

UK BESTSELLER

What does it take to make us think within the most unlikely?

For Dr. Alfred Jones, existence is a quiet mix of civil carrier on the nationwide Centre for Fisheries Excellence and marriage to Mary—an bold, no-nonsense financier. yet a wierd flip of destiny from an unforeseen course forces Jones to upend his life and spend all of his time in pursuit of one other man’s ludicrous dream. Can there be salmon within the Yemen? technological know-how says no. but when assets are unlimited and the visionary is galvanized, might be salmon fishing within the Yemen isn’t very unlikely. having said that, perhaps not anything is.

Show description

Read More

Don't Stand Where the Comet is Assumed to Strike Oil: A Dilbert Book

By Scott Adams

""Confined to their booths in an organization run via fool bosses, Dilbert and his white-collar colleagues make the dronelike international of Kafka look congenial.""- The long island Times

Why is Dilbert this kind of phenomenon? humans see their very own dreary, monotonous lives dropped at comedic existence within the ubiquitous strip. within the twenty third choice of Scott Adams' drastically renowned sequence, Don't Stand the place the Comet is thought to Strike Oil, suppressed and repressed employees in all places can stick to the most recent advancements within the so-called careers of Dilbert, power-hungry Dogbert, Catbert, Ratbert, the pointy-haired boss, and different supporting-but do not you dare name them supportive-characters. every one ""funny simply because it is true"" state of affairs bears an uncanny, hysterical, and infrequently uncomfortable similarity to cubicle-filled company America.

Show description

Read More

Billy Bunter's Banknote (Billy Bunter, Book 2)

By Frank Richards

How did it turn up that Billy Bunter, famed for being in wish of money, used to be someday waving a ten-pound word round? It was once suspicious certainly if you happen to consider the truth that a substantial sum had lately been stolen from the Head's study.

Review: during this early Skilton released tale we meet a kind of new contributors of employees that continually become bad-uns. Mr Twiss. this can be the headmaster’s new secretary. Mr Twiss is a small, spectacled guy, who commonly wouldn't be spotted through Greyfriars males. Regulars readers of The Magnet will comprehend that Dr Locke isn't the most sensible pass judgement on of personality whilst utilizing new employees.

what number K’s in ‘succeeded,’ Toddy?” Bunter is writing domestic asking his father for a remittance. As ordinary, the fats owl is stony.
There are a few great little touches during this tale. Bunter has an impot – he has to jot down out the date 1688 100 instances. He thinks up an inventive scheme, wherein, by way of tying 4 pens jointly, he want in simple terms write it out 25 instances. initially Mr Quelch is questioned at seeing the impot written out in “blocks” of 4.
His hand strayed to a cane. yet he withdrew it. His crusty face cozy right into a grim smile…”Forty years ago,” stated Mr. Quelch, “I was once a schoolboy.” …….”and while i used to be in a junior shape i used to be conversant in a trick of fastening pens together”…”by which equipment, a couple of line should be written at a time”… “This trick,” acknowledged Mr. Quelch, “could occasionally be performed on an inattentive or absent-minded master”…I didn't approve of it, while a schoolboy, Bunter. I approve of it nonetheless much less as a school-master”…And i like to recommend you, to exploit just one pen. you'll go.

Breaking bounds one evening, Smithy is knocked out at midnight on the door of Dr. Locke’s research. subsequent day a amount of cash – together with a package of tenners – is came upon lacking from a drawer within the Head’s desk.

Amazingly, Bunter is quickly in ownership of a ten-pound word. He hawks it up & down the eliminate, yet nobody is ready to alter it for him. He claims it's a remittance from domestic, yet he's unusually reluctant to invite Mrs. Mimble to alter it.

Is Billy Bunter the dead night thief? there's a secret the following, and also you have to learn extra to find precisely the place Bunter received his banknote.

an exceptional Bunter tale, worth studying.

Show description

Read More

Monstrous Regiment (For the Stage)

By Terry Pratchett

A brand new degree model of 1 of Pratchett's best-selling novels

The mammoth Regiment in query is made of a vampire (reformed and rancid the blood, thank you), a troll, Igor (who is just too satisfied to stitch you a brand new leg for those who usually are not too specific approximately prior ownership), a set of misfits and a tender girl discovers pair of socks shoved down her pants is an effective method to open up doorways in a man's military. "One of the funniest English authors alive" (Independent)

Show description

Read More

Who is Tom Ditto?

By Danny Wallace

Attempting to figure out what’s taking place to his complicated existence, Tom attempts to trace Hayley down. In doing so, he stumbles throughout an odd and whimsical workforce of individuals with an abnormal and highly-addictive hobby.

Next, he’s being undefined, yet he’s uncertain via whom. after which he additionally virtually loses his task on the radio station within the now notorious ‘Jam Nazi’ episode, which after all, you recognize about.

Above all, Tom is attempting to determine who every person is.

Because who's Hayley? who's this new woman following him round the supermarket?

And who, for that topic, is TOM DITTO?

Show description

Read More

Down With Skool!: A guide to school life for tiny pupils and their parents (Molesworth)

By Geoffrey Willans

If headmasters have been sincere a prospectus will be a e-book which sa what percentage kanes he hav, contane a caution in regards to the skool puppy and the volume of prunes and rice served throughout the term.

Nigel Molesworth is probably not the simplest scholar St Custard's will ever have, yet he's definitely capable of convey his emotions approximately his loved university – let alone botany walks and foopball. along with his convenient advisor to Masters at a look (Know the Enemy) and classes (chiz chiz) and the way to prevent Them, no noble courageous fearless and so on. boy will ever need to endure by the hands of the 'swots, bulies, milksops grasping guts and oiks' ever back WIZZ.

Illustrated by means of Ronald Searle

Show description

Read More

Dirk Gently's Holistische Detektei : Roman

By Douglas Adams

In Dirk Gently's Holistischer Detektei geht es drunter und drüber. Ein elektrischer Mönch, eine lebende Leiche, ein bettlägriger Odin oder ein Cola-Automat mit Eigenleben sind nur einige der Zutaten dieses «Geister-Horror-Zeitmaschinen-Romanzen-Komödien-Musical-Epos» vom bekannten Autor der "Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis"-Reihe.

Show description

Read More

The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel

By Jasper Fforde

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York instances bestselling sequence of Thursday subsequent novels introduces literary detective Thursday subsequent and her exchange truth of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love traveling Jasper Fforde's nice Britain, circa 1985, while time shuttle is regimen, cloning is a truth (dodos are the resurrected puppy of choice), and literature is taken very, very heavily: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a digital police kingdom the place an aunt can wander off (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this can be company as ordinary for Thursday subsequent, popular detailed Operative in literary detection. but if a person starts off kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is confronted with the problem of her profession. Fforde's creative fantasy—enhanced by way of a website that re-creates the realm of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty combine. Thursday’s zany investigations proceed with six extra bestselling Thursday subsequent novels, together with One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the impending The lady Who Died A Lot. stopover at jasperfforde.com.

Show description

Read More

The Lynne Truss Treasury: Columns and Three Comic Novels

By Lynne Truss

Lynne Truss debuted in the US as a guffaw-inducing grammarian, yet her British viewers has identified her for years as a seriously acclaimed novelist and columnist. Her prior works at the moment are on hand stateside in a single quantity, entire with a brand new preface.

With One awful unfastened Packet of Seed, a raucous comedy of error, follows the exploits of Osborne Lonsdale, who writes a weekly column known as "Me and My Shed" for a floundering gardening journal. whilst the e-book is taken over by means of a gung-ho administration group, Lonsdale needs to learn how to deal with his new coworkers.

In Tennyson's Gift and Going Loco, Truss turns a fiendishly shrewdpermanent eye to the literary international. Tennyson's Gift is an creative cocktail of Victorian seriousness and farce that re-imagines the realm of the nineteenth-century English poet laureate, putting him in the course of eccentric corporation that comes with dodgy Charles Dodgson (aka Lewis Carroll). Going Loco encompasses a critic attempting to write a definitive account of the doppelgänger in gothic fiction, amidst the chaos of her household existence, together with paranoia that her cleansing girl is taking on her existence.

Making the Cat Laugh is a riotous number of columns approximately unmarried existence. Truss reviews on courting, secondhand smoking, procuring, vacation trips, and those that ask, "How's the unconventional going?" the entire whereas, she maintains an eighteen-year quest to make her cat snigger. Reportedly, the tom cat continues to be unimpressed.

A dinner party of wit, The Lynne Truss Treasury will pride lovers of Eats, Shoots & Leaves.

Show description

Read More